Wednesday, April 9, 2014

A Little About Me and Prior to my Journey of Adult Metal Mouth...

Well, I am 30 years old and I am a Police Officer. I work inside the schools. I have been a police officer for about 5 years and have always been extremely self conscious about my teeth.  

When I was a teenager, my mother tried to get me to get braces but after fighting and arguing non stop about it, she gave up. (I could kick my teenage self, if given the chance!) Little did I know, I would regret that decision, among many others of my defiant adolescence! I hated the dentist, so I refused to ever go. Mostly because I would always hear the same story of "Your teeth are severely crowded, you need braces...here is a referral...blah blah blah." Ugh.

Fast forward 17 years. I am in a world where "image" is burned into everyone's mind. If you have a flaw, it is put on blast in front of you and things you are insecure about is put on billboards, magazines, television commercials, etc. I don't struggle with weight, beauty or anything like that...I struggle with my smile. I want so bad for that perfect flawless smile.

I was looking back at photographs and I just never really smile in pictures. It's always a grin or a smirk or the infamous "DUCK LIPS" lol. That is so depressing. Even though I know that I am happy in the picture, to outsiders it looks like I am just there and not amused. 

Back in February, I was eating a combo (You know, those tasty little pretzel snack treats!?) and broke my rear molar! I think that sucker was filled with concrete or something!!? Anyhow, I made an impromptu dentist appointment with a doctor that was referred to me by a relative. (You know, because I have not been to a dentist in FOREVER.) Went in and they told me that they could do a root canal and fix me all up. I opted for them to just get rid of it. (For one, it would be quicker recovery and two, I have too many teeth in there, it will not hurt to take one away!!) So, that morning is where my journey to beautiful (hopefully) teeth begins.

I made several other appointments afterward to get cavities filled and make sure everything else was in working order.

Once I got to the end of my treatment plan at the dentist, my doctor (who had braces, herself!), recommended I take the plunge and get it done. I agreed. She referred me to her own orthodontist. I went in for the consultation, the molds, the invasive photographs. Then I waited.

On Monday, April 7th, I had my "Banding" appointment. I went in, got to listen to all the pros and cons of my "situation" and went through the tedious procedure of getting my braces on.....

As soon as they finished, I instantly felt tremendous pressure in my mouth. I had to figure out how to get my lips over this alien object that was now cemented to my teeth. OMG, what have I gotten myself into!? 

I left after my appointment, called my boyfriend and literally burst into tears. I hated this. I hated that I had to go through this and I hated the fact that I didn't just listen to my mother when I was a teenager. That evening, I continued with my normal routine of going home and going to the gym. I felt out of place and as if I had a sign on my forehead that read "Hey, look at me, I have a mouth of metal and I suck!" lol

My BF said that you can hardly tell and that makes me feel better. I took the following day off of work because I needed a mental health day and some time to face the facts that this is going to be ME for the next year. AND that it will ALL be WORTH it in the end.

Today, I have come to work and now get the fun task of facing all of my teenagers that I talk to on a daily basis. So far, nobody has noticed. But, I also have barely spoken to anyone, too.

Some people in the administration part of the school have told me that its adorable and I wear them well and they are hardly noticeable.

I am still struggling to find comfort in my new appearance. But only time will help that. 

OH! One more thing....I don't know how it works for anyone else, but my teeth have ALREADY shifted and I'm only into my 2nd day!!! Is that normal!? And it is still SOFT food such as Mac and Cheese and Protein Fruit Smoothies....my coffee is drank through a straw to avoid discoloration of my clear bands on the ceramic braces. That is really awkward, just so you know! :)

I will eventually post pictures, for anyone who is curious. :)

Until next update...........


No comments:

Post a Comment